Mom and Dad’s Worst Nightmare

3 Jun

Being a freedom-loving American child, I fought the shackles of my oppression created by who else but my parents. It only took 22 years to emerge from the battlefield, victorious.

Now before you start assuming that I am a product of “tiger parents,” let me set the record straight. Unlike Amy Chua, my parents, out of the kindness of their hearts, allowed me to go to sleepovers and play dates. Plus, they never threatened to burn my stuffed animals in an attempt to improve my piano performance — I think we all knew my efforts at musical greatness was a lost cause anyway. My life seemed pretty peachy right? WRONG. Oh, I had problems. Big ones, in fact. You see, my parents tried to keep me from my one true love: television.

I suppose my parents meant well. In restricting my television viewing to the weekends, they tried to foster an appreciation for more productive hobbies such as reading and sports. I even vaguely recall a dark time during which my parents cleverly canceled our cable subscription because what besides Saturday morning cartoons will interest a kid on weekend network television? I don’t remember those years very well — I try to block them out.

Unfortunately for my parents, they’re well-intentioned plans backfired…miserably. It was only natural, that when I left for college, my love of television became a full-fledged addiction. It started off with a little Ugly Betty here and a little Gossip Girl there. However, as my dedication to my studies waned and my procrastination habits intensified, I disregarded my upbringing, adding more and more shows to my list until I had 10 hours of television shows to watch each week. Even though it is currently an awkward time in TV land as most shows have already aired their season finales, I find myself invested in shows I don’t even like, e.g. The Voice. I even cried today watching the season finale of The Biggest Loser. Did I mention this is my first time watching the show? I think I’ve dropped to a new level of desperation. Maybe I should have read and exercised more in college.

So, the moral of this semi-pointless story is that 1) sometimes despite mom and dad’s best efforts, plans don’t always pan out and 2) “winning” in struggles against your parents isn’t always in your best interest. Don’t believe me? Watch an episode of Parenthood and get back to me, okay?

***I do want to note that my obsession with the small screen has not been transferred to the silver screen. I have yet to see many blockbusters including Inception and until recently, The Dark Knight. In fact, I had to Google “the Navi people” to understand a joke on the sitcom, Happy Endings last week. Please don’t judge me, okay? For that matter, don’t judge me for anything said in the post and we’ll get along famously.

Leave a Reply

