iPhone? Soooo over it…

10 Jul

I blame my miniature blog hiatus on my recent trip to New York City. Unfortunately, the concrete jungle where dreams are made of deprived me of all creative inspiration and instead, motivated me to spend my days shrinking my wallet and fattening my waistline.

NYC was exactly how I imagined it would be - a life-size Gossip Girl set and therefore obviously, a dream come true. Please refer to me as "C" from now on.

I learned a few important life lessons on this very educational trip:

1) New Yorkers think it’s creepy if you smile too much. (Don’t do it!)

2) Your friends think it’s creepy if you constantly text them random pictures of cats (with captions like, “Meow! Thinking of you at the Met!”)

3) “Cash Cab” is apparently a hoax. (There goes my innocence and child-like wonder.)

4) If you tug on the ears of the Mickey Mouse mascot in Times Square, he WILL curse at you and flip you the bird. (For the record, I was just a witness in this scenario.)

5) Smartphones are really really useful.

You see, I have yet to jump on the smartphone bandwagon. I swear it’s not my fault. My parents refused to get a computer until 2001, and we were using dial-up until 2005. I’m a just product of my environment. It wasn’t until this past week, that I truly understood the necessity of owning one of these gadgets. Apparently, a smartphone can provide you with directions to show your cab driver. It can help you Yelp a new restaurant in Little Italy. It can even lead you to said restaurant, sparing you the exhaustion of aimlessly wandering the streets after your brother abandons you. But, I’m sure you already know all this because you, unlike me, do not flee from technology.

2005's finest!

Instead, I’ve been using my cousin’s friend’s old LG flip phone. (Thanks for hooking it up, Shannon!) While it’s incredibly reminiscent of my first cellphone, it allows me to call, text and even take low-quality pictures (of cats.) It’s good enough for me, but it’s no smartphone. Consequently, I was surprised to receive so many compliments on it in New York. After a few “cool phone” comments, I picked up on Lesson #6: There are A LOT of hipsters in New York. I’ve concluded that they must think I’m using the phone ironically…which I’m not. And this is why (contrary to the title of this post) I need an iPhone.

9 Responses to “iPhone? Soooo over it…”

  1. Eleanor July 11, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    I already refer to you as “C” sometimes. Am I helping you to fulfill your “dream come true?”

    • Courtney July 11, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

      “Sometimes” isn’t good enough. Let’s try not to half-ass this effort here. Thanks.

  2. gwaceez July 11, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    hehehe using your phone ironically… you probably would!

    how can cash cab be a hoax?!?! explain yourself!

    • Courtney July 11, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

      Let me reiterate that I was NOT trying to make a statement. I repeat, I was NOT trying to make a statement. I was trying, however, to make a call.

  3. bschooled July 11, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    Haha! I know what you mean about the cats, now I just text my friends pics of drunk guys throwing up outside the bar (with captions like “Ralph says Hi!”)

    • Courtney July 11, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

      How do these friends respond? Positively? If so, can we trade friends?

  4. Shannon is Fanawesometastic July 13, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    yay! you have a G phone. There’s 3G, 4G… you just have G for GHETTO! :D

    • Courtney July 13, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

      You make me proud to be related to you.

      • snufflesthebear July 13, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

        sadly to say, out of the rest of our family members. i am the most normal. :) oh and this is snuffles posting now. lol :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

